Awards, Honours & Major Grants

To Lab Team Members:

2023: Johanna has been awarded the Best Abstract Award 2023 in the category 'best method' (LMU Medical Faculty, DoktaMed).

2023: Madeleine has been awarded as Young Investigator Award Winner 2023 in the 10th Cardiac Regeneration & Vascular Biology Conference.

2023: Janina has been awarded as Poster Competition Winner 2023 in the 10th Cardiac Regeneration & Vascular Biology Conference. 

2023: Janina's and Madeleine's abstracts were selected for talks at the Gordon Research Seminar 'Directed Cell Migration'.

2023: Benjamin's abstract was selected for a talk at the interact PhD conference. 

since 2021: Madeleine has been elected as a student representative of the graduate programme IRTG914.


To Jörg Renkawitz:

2024: Featured in ‘Cell Scientists to Watch’ series by the Journal of Cell Science

since 2021: Member of the DFG priority programme SPP2332 'Physics of Parasitism'

since 2020: Member of the 'EMBO Scientific Exchange Grants' Advisory Board

2019: Life Science Research Award Austria (category Basic Research)

since 2019: Member of the Collaborative Research Center CRC914 'Leukocyte trafficking', PI project A12

since 2018: Endowed ‘Peter Hans Hofschneider Professor for Molecular Medicine’

2015 - 2017: EMBO postdoctoral fellowship

2014 - 2015: ISTFELLOW postdoctoral fellowship, Marie-Curie COFUND

2013: Max-Planck-Institute of Biochemistry Junior Research Award

2013: PhD ‘summa cum laude’

2009 - 2012: PhD fellowship of the Boehringer-Ingelheim-Fonds (BIF)

2008 - 2013: International Max Planck Research School (IMPRS)

Current Funding

Endowed ‘Peter Hans Hofschneider Professorship for Molecular Medicine’ (Foundation Experimental Biomedicine)

SPP2332 (DFG Priority Programme) „Physics of Parasitism (PoP)“


LMUexcellent Investment Fund (2023/2024)

Previous Funding

SFB914 (Collaborative Research Center CRC914, DFG)„ Trafficking of Immune Cells in Inflammation, Development and Disease“

(3rd funding period; 2019-2023)

LMUexcellent Junior Investigator Fund(2019/2020)

Friedrich Baur Foundation (2019/2020) 

"Verein zur Förderung von Wissenschaft und Forschung an der Medizinischen Fakultät der LMU München e.V." (2019/2020) 

EMBO postdoctoral fellowship (2015-2017)

ISTFELLOW postdoctoral fellowship, Marie-Curie Cofund  (2014-2015)

Boehringer Ingelheim Fonds (BIF) PhD fellowship (2009-2012)